Skip to content

Nothing is easy – week two.

February 8, 2012

You know how they say “the honeymoon is over”?  Well, it is week two here in Granada and while it has been fantastic, reality has hit. I do not have a place to live and I don’t like the teaching at the school I picked, so I need to get those concerns solved.  I am moving to a hostel Thursday because Helen has someone new coming who needs my room.  It is very tiring living out of a suitcase for so long, not really the same as being on vacation or traveling.  I really love this place –Casa Nekko, and may have the opportunity to rent here later this spring.  There is a beautiful garden and a pool, neither of which I have enjoyed much.

Yesterday I visited the realtor again and picked the school –big mistake.  I just did not ask the right questions and now will be better prepared to do so.  My class (they are all one on one) consisted of my teacher going over my placement test, writing some information on the board so that I could copy it and then giving me a couple of worksheets to fill out. Ridiculous.  I had a fabulous teacher in Boston, Lorena Calderon, who taught me more in one hour than I learned in three hours today.

I went out tonight to get take out as I had worked late, and the place I wanted was closed. Apparently restaurants close one night a week here, but you don’t know which night.  So I got a piece of pizza, which was good but just like home.  I ate it with Helen’s cat waiting for me to give her a bite –I didn’t, and watching cable TV.  I tried to call my daughter, Jenny, on Skype earlier, but she only got every third word so that great idea did not work. The HVAC in Atlanta died and we had to discuss it and the bills etc. that go on even when you are not there! I wish there were some way to stop the costs when I am out of the country-like you leave the border and all the bills are on hold until you cross back over. Good idea I think.

The weather is gorgeous and I am still happy I am doing this.  You just have to focus on your goal and keep putting one foot in front of the other and that is what I am doing. It is a bonus to meet so many nice people along the way.

From → Granada

One Comment
  1. Hey Aunt Marty! I’m sorry things are rough right now, but I’m sure it will all work out in the end! I have a mantra that I like to use for running: “If it’s important, you’ll find a way. If it’s not, you’ll find an excuse.” I am so proud of you for heading down there all on your own, I know this will be an amazing experience, ups AND downs! Good luck! – Katie Wheeler

    Like

Leave a Reply

