Skip to content

So happy –I have a home!

February 13, 2012

Saturday morning I looked at the small apartment on Calle Consulado and decided to rent it. It is attached to a “big house” that is a short term rental and that the American owner sometimes uses. The apartment is modern, clean, has ceiling and floor fans and hot water! It also has two other essentials –a microwave and wifi internet which works fairly reliably. I moved in immediately and then walked to the local grocery store for food. On the way I bumped into David, the man that I met Friday who was renting his house, so told him I was all set. We agreed to meet later for dinner for my first Saturday night in Granada.

The restaurant we went to was one of the best in Granada, Mediterraneo, and we had a seafood dish that I believe was called Zuela-various seafood in a spicy tomato broth, and a gorgonzola steak dish. Both were good and the service was terrific in a beautiful garden setting. I would recommend it for a treat as it was much more expensive than most places I have eaten, although I did have 2 glasses of red wine. It came to about $25! Then we walked to the main drag, Calle Calzada, to sit outside for a drink (Capirinias again) and watch street entertainers. There was a terrific Michael Jackson impersonator. This was the first night of the International Poetry Festival so there were lots of people out, along with children and young people selling gum, cigarettes, candy etc. from baskets.

Sunday I unpacked and tried to catch up on my business after being off the internet for two days. Today I had my first lesson at my new school called Roger’s One on One. It is the oldest Spanish School in Granada (from 1979 I think) and they have you work with one teacher per hour so I had two different teachers. It was great! Very practical, mostly conversation and they are teaching me the different tenses (regular ones) already, rather than just the present tense which if often how you start. I am thrilled.

I met a couple from Boston on the street-he is Nicaraguan and she is a Spanish tutor in Sharon. They are just here for a holiday. Since then I have been working in my apartment and “talking” to Isabel the maid who cleaned today and has agreed that she will talk to me in Spanish because I want to practice. She knows some English which is helpful to our “conversations”. A knock on my door? It was someone from the rental agency with some measuring cups…so I can cook! Nothing too exciting which is just what I want for a while.

From → Granada

One Comment
  1. Claire Foley permalink

    WHEW….DELIGHTED YOU FINALLY ARE SETTLED…BRAVE SOUL. I COULD HAVE HAD MY NEIGHBOR TEACH YOU, SHE’S HEAD OF THE SPANISH DEPT AT SOMERVILLE HIGH. ENJOY !!!! HUGS CLAIRE

    Like

Leave a Reply

