Skip to content

A fun and social day

February 20, 2012

I had the best fun, social day today. My class this morning was totally different. My original teacher got fired over the weekend and I had a woman who I had “chatted” with last week while I was waiting for my teacher. Her name is Beatriz, very low key, very nice. We went over a lot of “ar” ending verbs and I conjugated them in the present tense. I have not done that before and while the conjugation is not hard, I found I did not know the meaning of a lot of them. I am so focused on learning words for things I need to say that I have overlooked just learning the meaning of a number of words.

Then I had my usual session with Roger who is the owner of the school. We generally work on pronunciation and read scripts but he was still upset from have to let my first teacher go so I listened to his story. He told me about living in Maryland in the states for many years and what he did there and how his personal life was at that time. Then how he returned to Nicaragua and how he started the school and how it has changed. He gave me some detail about his personal life in Granada and how he had a lot of trouble when he was trying to help someone. It was fascinating and although I did not learn any Spanish, I did learn a lot about the culture here.

I bought some postcards and then tried to follow directions to the Correo (post office) but could never find it. Tomorrow I shall try again.

I had a lunch meeting with a woman I had met briefly and wanted to get to know better. Nothing has an address here so it is very difficult to find places, especially when you are new. She gave me a general idea of where it was but I was completely off base and walked for twenty minutes or so. She and I kept calling each other on our cell phones (that $15 cell was a great investment!) and we finally met up in the street near her house. It turns out the restaurant, La Florista, was 2 blocks from my apartment, maybe a 5 minute walk!

She is an American and has been coming here for twelve years off and on but now is here fairly full time. Jeannie and her husband do go back to Austin, TX for periods of time. This is something I am finding as I meet ex-pats here. I think a number of them love living here, but do go back to the US for weeks or months for various reasons. I will tell you some of those reasons in another post, but I can understand wanting to have the best of both worlds. Most people I have met here are very self aware. They are living here because they have made a conscious decision to do so. So far everyone I have met has lived a very interesting life prior to landing here and most of them have already traveled a great deal throughout the world.Jeannie and I talked for almost three hours (it was so much fun) and then I rushed home to do a phone interview with a candidate.

This evening my original contact at the B&B, Helen, came over to see my apartment and loved it. She told me the “big house” is gorgeous. Like Manhattan meets Granada which makes sense as the owners are from Manhattan. I hope to see the main house this week as they are here. Apparently my floor is imported stone, it is lovely as is the wood and furnishings.

Helen and I went to dinner on Calle Calzada which is the main drag here –mostly a pedestrian street (my school is further down on the same street). It is completely changed from morning when I go to class to evening. There are vendors and hawkers everywhere and it is very noisy. We ate outside as it is 79F and a beautiful evening. It gets dark here about 6pm and light around 6am. The café we chose was called Rodeo and they had the best beef ribs I have ever had. So smoky and tender, yummy. The ribs, French fries, rice, and salad set me back $8.75 with tax and tip. I even had some left; it was such a big serving. I gave my rice to a street vendor of about 8 years of age as he asked for it. These are the kids I mentioned in another post who are selling candy, gum, cigarettes etc. from baskets. You can buy one cigarette for about fifteen cents; you do not have to buy the whole pack. We also bought a small handful of fabulous dry roasted, no salt cashews for about forty cents. The nuts are fresh as the trees grow here and the vendors roast them at home.

It was a wonderful day full of new friends and the culture of the area. This is also what I am here to do in addition to learning Spanish!

From → Granada

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

