Skip to content

Observations

March 19, 2012

Every church (all Catholic) I have visited is quite spartan. No gilded decorations and not many decorations at all. Very neat and plain inside. The outside is ornate with carving but no gold.

Many roofs in town are being repaired. They are made of overlapping tile with cane underneath. When they tear them down it is incredibly dusty. Must be the season to get it done before the rain starts in May?

OSHA would have a field day here: many holes in sidewalks, vendor stalls blocking sidewalks so you have to walk in the street, sidewalks that just end with no stairs, uneven and missing pavement, no handrails, etc. There are a lot of street lights and they are often on even when the electricity is off but there are many streets without any lights at all.

The sun is very punctual. Up at 6am down at 6pm, period.

Even though Nicaragua is in the northern hemisphere the seasons are different. This is the hottest time of year –January to May.  They call it summer.  Then the rains start –apparently fairly brief in the afternoon- but they cool it down. What we call summer in the US, June to September, is actually cooler here than it is now (winter/spring)

I am excited about moving to Casa Nekko, Helen’s house because I will have a (small) pool and a garden and a big airy bedroom. Also I will not have to move again until I leave (now in September) except to occasionally change rooms when Helen is home. I do not like moving!! The only downside is that the location is not as central as my apartment.

I am much more social than I think I am. I have spent the time I have been here doing often doing things –eating out, sightseeing, visiting – with people several times a week. This surprises me as I consider myself kind of a loner.

 I love wine with dinner but I think it is expensive here. The reason I have that idea is because a glass or two of wine can double the cost of a meal out. My friends have pointed out wine is not expensive (in relation to ordering a glass in the US) but the cost of food is cheap. Oh!

This past weekend we all chipped in to hire Jose’s wife to cook a typical Nicaraguan meal. It was fabulous: both green and ripe platanos (plantains), fried fish with lime, rice, salad, and a chicken and vegetable dish (a little like stew but whole pieces of chicken), and mango salsa (courtesy of Judy). So delicious and so much fun.

The smoothies here are incredibly delicious. Maybe they are in the US too,  but I never get them. Here you can choose the fruit you want and they make them for you –all fruit, no sweetener. They usually cost $1.63 with tax and tip.


When you eat out you have to remember that the bill (la cuenta) will be 25% more than the menu price. This is apparently just in Granada. They charge a 15% tax and usually add on a 10% tip (a bargain). You normally add a little more tip if the service is good which it usually is.

I have huge (Grand Canyon like) gaps in my vocabulary. Similarly it is often impossible to get across these gaps without resorting to English or a dictionary.  More studying and practice is desperately needed. This week I will take classes every single day!

From → Granada

One Comment
  1. Claire Foley permalink

    I have a cousin’s grandson who teaches Spanish in Brockton. I’m sure he would help you and you be in Boston. ha ha. Intereting about the lenten traditions there. Amazing how Catholic some places can be. We Americans take everything lightly. Enjoying your adventure, what’s next on your list?take care and enjoy. Hugs Claire

    Like

Leave a Reply

