Skip to content

Mojito Fridays!

March 26, 2012

Mojito Fridays are an interesting expat “tradition” here in Granada.  I recently found out about this and have attended twice but will definitely return when I can. Every Friday mostly English-speaking expats (Americans, Canadians, some Europeans) gather on Calle La Calzada the main street (and pedestrian only in the area) at tables in front of  the Grill House. They (and other restaurants) have a happy hour almost every night. I think the official hours are 4-8pm,  but you arrive when you can and just join the table.

It is open to anyone and is a great way to meet other people who speak English and to network.  What I like about it is that is not awkward to just join in, even though you may not know anyone. How else do you meet people in a new city? Maybe in a class or possibly through someone you already know? If you are like me you don’t know too many people, my classes are just me and the tutor, and my major resource, Helen, (who is going to be my landlady as of April 1) is leaving the country for two months.  So this is perfect.

Last Friday I met a Canadian who is leaving in a few weeks to go to Costa Rica. I mentioned the bus ticket I had to buy to get into Costa Rica and he took it to find out if he could use it. Regrettably it turns out it is not transferable but the possibility was there. I also met a woman (also a Canadian) who runs a library for kids. They also teach English to kids on Saturday afternoons and I may volunteer to do that once everyone leaves as I did get my ESL certificate in 2010.  The IT professional who fixed my computer the week before was there and he was the one who introduced me to these folks.

I love being here and am having a lot of fun and learning a lot – even some Spanish!  Do I want to speak English all the time –of course not, but it is comforting to be able to have a conversation in your own language with people who understand your native culture. That is the beauty of Mojito Fridays!

From → Granada

2 Comments
  1. Claire Foley permalink

    HI MARTY, THINKING ABOUT YOU. NEXT WEEK SHOULD BE INTERESTSING IT BEING HOLY WEEK. I’M PLANNING MY EASTER MENU NOW, ROAST PORK, BAKED HAM, ROASTED POTATO’S, VEGGIES, OH YES STARTER MUSHROOM RAVIOLI’S WITH MEAT SAUCE. CAESAR SALAD. DESERT DRINKS REAL AMERICAN FOOD.. HA HA. HAVE A HAPPY EASTER AND HOPE YOU PARTAKE IN SOME OF THE RELIGIOUS ACTIVITES. REJOYCE… HUGS

    Like

  2. I love Mojito Fridays!

    Like

Leave a Reply

