Skip to content

My day in Granada

May 28, 2012

What is a typical day like in another country and culture?  If you are me and you are living in Granada, Nicaragua with the goal of becoming conversational in Spanish here is what it looks like:

Each morning I leave my room (on the 2nd floor) through this gate -no other door- and go into the main house 

to make coffee and get some breakfast.

Sometimes I eat in the kitchen, but often I eat in my room at my desk while I check email for Travel Career Network and personal correspondence.

At 9am I start two hours of Spanish lessons. Some days I have the lesson in the dining room with my professor, Flavia.  She is a secondary teacher in Masaya, a town about 20 minutes from Granada. Secondary school meets in the afternoon, so she is free to tutor in the morning. She takes a bus from Masaya to Granada roundtrip after she gets her three children to school.  I like this a lot as she comes to my home and the lesson is tailored to my needs and interests and she is very flexible.

 Other days I walk about 10 minutes to a Spanish School named One on One Tutoring. It is the first Spanish School in Nicaragua and the owner, Roger Ramirez, creates the lessons and material. Since he lived in the US for over twenty years it is geared toward English speakers. He is one of my instructors and the other is a young Nicaraguan woman, Helene.  I like the concept of having two different personalities and accents, and they have a great deal of printed and internet material to use. The school is on the main pedestrian street, Calle Calzada.

 There is a public elementary school across the street that is very colorful.

After class I generally work on my business or talk with the maid, Maria.  She and I do our best to communicate in Spanish and I will admit that it is getting easier. Maria comes to the house from 8:30 to 12:30pm six days a week to clean. This is necessary as the living quarters are totally open to the outside and it gets very dusty everyday to say nothing of

all the insects and small critters. She also will go to the local market and buy fruits and vegetables for me.  I am so grateful for this as I am a bit intimidated by the outdoor markets and by the fact that I am not great at

knowing if produce is ripe or not.  She has introduced me to many new fruits that are native to Nicaragua. She is expecting her third child in August and I will miss her when she is on maternity leave.

Late afternoon and evening are free and I sometimes swim in the pool at the house, do my laundry, or walk around the street and look in doorways.

Occasionally I go to the bakery (panaderia) for a treat, or join a friend for a drink or dinner. Most buildings in the center have beautiful wood and I enjoy just looking at them.

I am still wondering how this truck managed to get to Granada?! 

From → Granada

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

