Skip to content

Vacation in the homeland

August 9, 2012

TIme flies!  I left Granada for the USA the beginning of July. I was there almost three weeks but it seemed much quicker as the time just flew.

My first week I was in Atlanta visiting my three daughters, son in law, and my three granddaughters. My oldest in South Carolina came to visit which was great fun. We celebrated July 4th at Debby’s house with lots of food and drink and socializing. It was really good to be with my family and to communicate so easily-i.e. in English. I miss them!

The rest of that week I played with the grandkids and ran errands. Next I flew to California for a week. In Irvine I delivered a 3 day seminar on leadership and communication to a culturally diverse group at a corporation there.  Then was fortunate to spend the rest of the week in the Santa Monica/LA area visiting with friends.

Such a great holiday and very different from Atlanta in that I did touristy things. Santa Monica was beautiful, right on the water and very relaxed and clean. A great restaurant was Ivy on the Shore, beautifully decorated.

In LA we toured the various neighborhood -there are many and they are distinct.  One memorable experience was dinner at the Chef’s Counter at Scarpetta’s in the Hotel Montage. A tasting menu that was out of this world.

I visited Hollywood to see the stars in the sidewalk and the theatre where the Oscars are awarded, more great food. A highlight for me was a surprise helicopter tour of LA and environs. My first helicopter ride on a beautiful, calm, sunny day. Perfect!

From → Granada

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

