Skip to content

A few things I like about Panama City

August 13, 2013
Panama City

I love that there are a good number of nice public parks – different sizes and with different facilities. Near us (not pictured) is a park with a basketball court, lots of exercise equipment including the instructions on how to use it, a fountain, and a covered area that I often see kids practicing break dancing. There are also paved walking paths and benches for just sitting and enjoying. There are also yoga classes, although I have not seen them, and other activities.

I love the random beauty in the city – the interesting trees and sculptures in the median.

There is an incredible variety of food both fresh and in many types of restaurants. I would love to try them all as Panama City is very cosmopolitan.

I have found it fairly easy to meet people here. Of course we meet other students at our school – Spanish Panama. And there are a number of organizations that offer networking – InterNations, AMSOC, Who’s New, etc.  Most people are very friendly and even patient with my poor Spanish. I will say that I think I learned more Spanish in Nicaragua as many people here in Panama speak English so when i get stuck I ask “habla Ingles?” Very lazy!

From → Panama

One Comment
  1. That food looks delicious! Keep speaking Spanish as much as possible and soon you will be thinking in Spanish instead of translating in your mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

