Skip to content

A Goal Achieved

March 26, 2014

Almost thirty years ago I made two 3×5 “Goal Cards”. One was for short-term goals and one for long-term. On my long-term card I wrote: “live in Europe”.  This past month, February 2014, I finally achieved that goal. I am living in Spain for the next six months. Never give up!

As always in these live abroad experiences, my real goal is to learn to speak Spanish. I am taking a class one day a week and practicing as much as possible with people I encounter in stores.  I have not met many Spaniards and was told that it can be a bit hard to make new friends when you are a “tourist”. This first month I have been focusing on getting settled and working on getting my long-term visa secured. I am settled, but the long-term visa is still a work in progress unfortunately. Three tries with the police and three fails! 6-IMG_4462 The area I live in is called Villajoyosa which is a residential area next to Benidorm, Spain on the Mediterranean sea. There are a few cafes, bars, small shops and banks, but it is mostly large apartment complexes.  The apartment buildings are always enclosed by fences, so the blocks are just fences with buildings and pools and small public spaces (for the residents) inside. I find it very isolating and since it is cold now, no one is out unless they are going somewhere. Perhaps in the summer you might meet people at the pools, but not now.

The apartment I am in is really nice with two bedrooms, two baths, a galley kitchen, living room and dining area, a utility room, and a great balcony that looks toward the sea. As I sit here at the dining room table, I can look out at the Mediterranean and see the occasional sailboat or ship. Nice!

More to come on the park next to my apartment and the city. For now I must leave to go into Benidorm for an appointment, and I want to walk as the path is along the sea and it is quite pretty.

From → Spain

3 Comments
  1. Harry permalink

    Hurray!!! You are finally writing again!!!

    Like

  2. Linda Tamulaites permalink

    So good to hear from you, Marty. Your apartment looks great and it is so nice that you can see the Mediterranean. The walk to Benidorm sounds wonderful. Seems we have survived the winter. The cape just got a big snow storm yesterday though. Have fun……Linda

    Like

  3. Lucky you! I am still in Europe; I will be moving to Brighton in a few months as I have taken a post at the University there. Perhaps we can finally meet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

