Skip to content

A few delicious foods

February 18, 2019

I have been fortunate to have lovely friends here in Alicante who treat me to some yummy food and drink. When I went looking for photos to show you, I realized I did not take many. Probably because I was enjoying it.

My friend Pilar recently made me a special dish called Gazpacho Manchego which I assumed was some type of the cold tomato soup we have in the US. It seemed odd in February as it is cold here (but sunny). Nope-it is a stew made of chicken and rabbit and served over special tortillas (tortas). She bought the tortillas in Caudete which is where she is from -about an hour from Alicante. Some of the tortas are torn up in the stew and the rest are laid in the dish and the stew is ladled on top. You can eat the soaked tortas when you have finished the stew – so delicious! And of course, we had something special for dessert-chocolate bizcocho (like a sponge cake) and fresh strawberries with whipped cream.

One of my other friends had a small gathering at her home with many kinds of awesome desserts and tea. So delicious and lots of Spanish practice for me.

I have had several other fabulous foods and coffee. I will try to be more diligent in taking photos before consuming!

From → Spain

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.